How many of you are rocking this summer without any air conditioning? Normally, I'm not very high maintenance, but this summer has made me realize that having air conditioning in my home is relatively important to me. Mild temperatures, up to about 80* (F, of course) don't bother me much, but it seems as though the line is drawn right about 81. Unfortunately, it's August, and I have already felt a few days of sheer misery right between 2 and 5 pm.
I've tried leaving windows open and fans on overnight, and closing all windows and blinds in the morning before it heats up outside, and I have done as little oven cooking and lengthy stove cooking as I can when the temperature is up, but I just can't seem to find an effective way to get through those two or three hours in the afternoon without sweating bullets. Any advice that won't cost us the likely several hundred dollars that fixing our air and heating would is appreciated. I am not sure what else I can do to minimize the indoor heat during and right after those peak hours in the day.
All of that being said, how did folks get by before air conditioning was a household norm? I mean, when my mom says "I don't know how you guys are going to get through August without air conditioning..." I just think... Neither do I, but my guess is you did it 30-40 years ago in the same climate... Is it just so uncomfortable because I know the luxury of having air conditioning, or am I missing the mark on some miracle solution to beat the heat? Or is it possible that families without such a luxury in the past were miserable in the heat but just pushed through their day and didn't whine and moan about it like I am now? Without access to a blog from the summer of 69, straight from a stay at home mom's mouth, I guess I may never know!
No comments:
Post a Comment